Neighbours, babies and feeling out of the loop

Ok so this is just a quick update and likely to be one of my last ones before SENZ hits me…

Firstly anyone who’s bothered reading my blurbs for any length of time knows about some of the issues we’ve had with all our neighbours. We have them on three sides and they all need to be committed. Seriously. We just like to live a quiet life and they, for some reason unknown to us, insist on interfering with that life in sneaky and underhanded ways. We had the kid who threw rocks at our dog and on the roof of the house (until we told them we had it on camera), the father of this same kid looking through our windows with a torch to see what we’d done with the kitchen. The drug house (since raided, sold and no longer a problem). The hypocritical, arrogant ones behind us who’ve sprayed our trees with roundup, come onto our property and cut OUR trees where it overhangs OUR water tank and left a mess, thrown a bag of dog faeces onto our property as if it was Kobi that left the reminder on their lawn (our dog is kept on the property at all times unlike theirs, who is tiny and sneaks through our fence to crap on our lawn!). The insane ones who crack whips all summer, say hi to us when it suits them and then ignore us if they think we’re moving house, and we’re sure has peered through out windows and have even set off our office alarm when we forgot to lock the workshop once and someone opened the door. Don’t ask me how but we just KNOW it’s them.

This is about the insane ones. They were fine when the drug house was there, all united against them etc but now they’re back to their old tricks. Now our house is higher than theirs, they’re right in the drainage bowl of the street and have terrible drainage issues (which they think they can fix by filling their property with decks and sheds). We have a small drainage culvert that runs along the front of our property into a pipe that goes under our driveway and then onto their property as it’s the natural flow for the drainage. It’s been there about 50 years and was put there by the council, but in a bid to help them with their drainage issues we put in a pipe to redirect some of the overflow back onto our property and into our drainage system we put in. The mysterious thing is that EVERY winter and umpteen times during winter we find a semi-deflated ball shoved into one end of the large pipe (the only end it’ll fit) that makes all the water back up onto our property completely. I WONDER who would do that? hmmmm. On inspection the ball has the NAME of the idiot owner on it, (and has done the last few times) so it’s not rocket science huh? So now we’re putting a grill up on the big end of the pipe so he who shall remain nameless can’t do it again, if the grill gets removed we’ll stick a camera on him and get the council involved…

What I want to know is why us? We’re pleasant to our neighbours but aren’t ones to get involved much in anything, we just like to do our own thing. And they can’t stand it! We’re not that interesting. Seriously!!

Anyway the drama will no doubt continue… as it does.

As for babies we’re all ready for the little guy to make his appearance and good job too, I’m waaay too tired to shop for anything else! I’m not sleeping much with major insomnia, aching hips and pelvis and a brain that won’t switch off this close to SENZ. I don’t think I’ll have the baby sleep-deprivation shock I had with Joshie this time around so that’s a small consolation. I’m due 16th or 17th September so there’s 2 1/2 months to go but we’ve pretty much got everything sorted, just a small supermarket shop for bits and bag to pack for the hospital and we’re off. His kicks have turned to painful prods and pokes too and he’s sooooo busy, maybe he and Joshie will wear each other out once Lucas is at an age to play with him. One can hope.

As my scrapping has totally revolved around digi stuff in the leadup to SENZ, I’m also feeling completely out of the loop with friends. No-one seems to want to catch up and I’m considering changing my deodorant. Is it me? is everyone just busy? Have I offended the world with my opinions (which I don’t mean to do but I do have them)… I’m just feeling a bit isolated at the moment and there’s no reason in particular for it. Must be the baby blues kicking in, the hormones must be building. Poor Steve, he has my sympathies.

Anyway as for SENZ I’m pretty much just burning CD’s and printing the last bits of signage and we’re there. I’m hoping more than anything I don’t end up sitting there for 3 days selling nothing and wishing I’d never bothered. It’s scary as it’s new to a lot of people but my hope is to show people how much cheaper than can make their scrapping, how easy it is and how interesting it can make their pages. We’re sharing a stand with Up2Scrap too so if you’re coming please come and say hi, it’s always nice to put faces to the names. If you can’t come to the show we’ll also be specialling the kits that are being released exclusively for the show online for that weekend only – you’ll get other bonuses if you buy from us in person though.

Hi ho, hi ho, I can’t feel my fingers it’s so cold but back to work I go…

x

4 responses to this post.

  1. Sorry about the problems with the neighbours – I did laugh at the fact their NAME was on the ball they shoved into the pipe though! I mean really, how did they think they would get away with that one?!

    I think it’s just a really crazy busy time of year. I know it is for me. With school holidays coming up, I’m feeling overwhelmed with all that I have to get done, so I don’t have to work all the time while the kids are here. I want to have fun with them, too. Glad I’m not going to SENZ now, as it was going to be another thing to add to my list, and more stress. I’m sure things will go smoothly for you though, as you’ve prepared things and have most of it sorted. Hopefully it’s a really successful weekend for you and your business!

    Hopefully we can catch up sometime after SENZ and the holidays and all the madness, eh!

    Reply

  2. Louise – I know you asked about catching up this Thursday and I was going to e-mail lol. Realized I don’t have your e-mail lol. Guess I could have messaged through FB, doh!!! This last week of school has me run ragged getting the girls to things and finishing up some things before we go away. Today was my down day but was anything but lol. So yes, once school goes back in 2 weeks I’ll be down for a get together πŸ˜‰ So we will organize something for then if that is ok with you?!?!!? Let me know πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  3. Don’t you wish you could just move? They sound terrible – I complain about ours because they always leave the outside light on and it shines in Jordan’s room and they are noisy with their cars early in the morning and they often park outside our house where i like to park even though they have a driveway that would fit 10 cars. I shouldn’t be quite so quick. My birthday is on the 17th September. Hope it goes fast for you:) All the best, Serena

    Reply

  4. Posted by mummymoo on July 8, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Hey you, okay they are idiots I mean leaving a name on the ball – total rocket scientists LOL Tell little Lucas to settle down so I will have words with him at SENZ πŸ™‚

    Nah it is not your deodorant hee hee, I have been around the blogs and stuff and not one is anywhere – I think it is is that school holiday thing, sigh both you and me honey have a couple more years before he can join the numbers – but our turn will come hee hee

    Now how do I explain to squeak sammies go in the mouth not on the floor – remember miss I am only a quick email away OKAY!?!?!

    Love ya and you are going to sell – repeat after me, I am GOING TO SELL HEAPS!! xoxox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

